Michael Bergeron
No Comments

HFCS 2024 Awards

HFCS 2024 Awards
Decrease Font SizeIncrease Font SizeText SizePrint This Page

The Houston Film Critics Society gave out their annual film achievement awards at a ceremony at the downtown Sundance Cinemas this weekend. The awards are as follows:

Best Picture    Spotlight
Best Director  Alejandro G. Iñárritu  The Revenant
Best Actor       Michael Fassbender   Steve Jobs
Best Actress     Brie Larson       Room
Best Supporting Actor     Tom Hardy The Revenant
Best Supporting Actress   Rooney Mara   Carol
Best Screenplay                 Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer  Spotlight
Best Animated Film          Inside Out (Pete Doctor, director)
Best  Cinematography      Emmanuel Lubezki   The Revenant
Best Documenta                Amy  (Asif Kapadia, director)
Best Foreign Film             Son of Saul  (Hungary; László Nemes, director)
Best Score                          Ennio Moriccone   The Hateful Eight
Best Song                           Brian Wilson “Love and Mercy” Love & Mercy
Texas Independent Film Award      Mark Craig    The Last Man on the Moon
Technical                             Guy Norris     Mad Max: Fury Road
Worst Movie                      Pixels       The-Revenant-bear

Lifetime Achievement Dennis Quaid
Humanitarian of the Year Matt Damon
Outstanding Cinematic Contribution Joe Leydon

Astronaut Eugene Cernan accepted the award for director Mark Craig for the documentary Last Man on the Moon.

— MB